Accueil » Governance structure » Advisory and Scientific Board


Advisory and Scientific Board


The Advisory and Scientific Board advises the Governing Board on strategic policy and scientific issues, and is consulted by the Governing Board on a regular basis.

The Advisory and Scientific Board is composed of two groups of selected representatives.

The first group, or Advisory Group, comprises European and international private and public bodies and organizations relevant to the JPI CH. Members of the Advisory Group are appointed in accordance with procedures agreed by the Governing Board.

The second group, or Scientific Group, is composed of twelve experts from countries involved in the JPI CH and from countries outside this JPI CH. Each Partner should provide a maximum of six candidates from its own country and six from other countries not involved in the JPI CH: four
experts on tangible cultural heritage, four on intangible cultural heritage and four on digital heritage.
The Governing Board will select the twelve members among the candidates proposed by the Partners, based on the scientific excellence of the candidates.

Members of the Advisory and Scientific Board have a three-year renewable mandate. In order to ensure a certain degree of continuity, initially one half of the members shall be nominated for four years and the other half for three years. Afterwards, any new member shall be nominated for a
renewable period of three years.

The members of the ADVISORY GROUP are:

  • Giovanni Boccardi : Focal Point on Sustainable Development, Disaster Risk Reduction and Capacity Building, World Heritage Centre, UNESCO
  • Mikhael de Thyse : Cultural Heritage and Technical Assistence Division – Directorate of Democratic Governance, Culture and Diversity (DGII-Democracy) Council of Europe
  • Stefano De Caro : Director General of International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM)
  • Benjamin Mouton : Vice President for Europe of  International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS)
  • Giovanni Puglisi : President of the Italian National Commission for UNESCO
  • Isabel Rodriguez Maribona : Tecnalia Research and Innovation
    European Construction Technology Platform (ECTP) – Focus Area on Cultural Heritage
  • John Sell : Executive Vice-President of Europa Nostra
  • Julien Anfruns : Member of the Council of State of France

The members of the SCIENTIFIC GROUP are:

  • Etienne Anheim  (France): Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (EHESS, Paris)
  • Gert Jan Burgers  (The Netherlands) : Faculty of Humanities, VU University Amsterdam
  • Axel Christophersen (Norway): NTNU University Museum
  • José Delgado Rodrigues: National laboratory of Civil Engineering (now retired)
  • Eva Falleth (Norway): Norwegian University of Life Sciences (UMB)
  • Rodney Harrison ( United Kingdom) Institute of Archaeology, University College London, UK
  • Juan Carlos Prieto Vielba (Spain): Fundación Santa María la Real
  • Susan Schreibman (Ireland): National University of Ireland Maynooth – An Foras Feasa: the Institute for Research in Irish Historical & Cultural Tradition
  • Laurajane Smith (Australia): Research School of Humanities & the Arts, ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences –  School of Archaeology & Anthropology
  • Bogusław Szmygi ( Poland)  Technical University of Lublin
  • Piotr Targowski (Poland): Nicolaus Copernicus University
  • Veerle van Eetvelde (Belgium): Ghent University Academic – Department of Geography